November 28, 2020

EC announces bypolls in three LS, two Assembly seats in UP, Bihar

New Delhi: The Election Commission on Friday announced that Lok Sabha bypolls to Gorakhpur and Phulpur in Uttar Pradesh and Araria in Bihar, will be held on March 11.

The Commission also announced bypolls to Bhabua and Jehanabad Assembly constituencies in Bihar, to be held on the same day.

Gorakhpur seat was vacated by UP Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath, while Phulpur by Deputy Chief Minister Keshav Prasad Maurya. RJD MP Mohammed Taslimuddin’s death necessitated the Araria seat by-election.

Courtesy: UNI

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *