September 26, 2020

Meet over varsity divisions

Patna: Governor Satyapal Malik will meet with seven vice-chancellors (VCs), including the three newly appointed ones, on Wednesday for smooth division of assets, liabilities and manpower sharing between the four old universities and three new ones.

VCs of Magadh University, Patliputra University, Tilka Manjhi University Bhagalpur, L.N. Mithila University Darbhanga, Munger university (carved out of Bhagalpur and Mithila varsities), Madhepura University and Purnea University will attend the meeting. The meeting, sources in the know said, is meant to bring uniformity in the formula for the division of assets and liabilities and ensure a timebound transfer mechanism.

On March 19, Chancellor Satya Pal Malik appointed VCs and pro-VCs to the three newly created universities of the state: PatliputraUniversity, Munger University, and Purnea University.

Sources said that as the decision regarding formation of three universities was pending for years, the education department had asked these varsities to work on the modalities for assert division.

Magadh University has framed a formula for the division of the roughly 500 non-teaching staff of the university headquarters.

Those with serious health issues and a short period left for superannuation would not be disturbed. The number of such employees, sources said, is around 100.

Of the roughly 400 remaining staff, 73 per cent would be shifted to Pataliputra University in Patna. However, the non-teaching association at Magadh University has opposed the decision of bifurcation of assets or transfer of non-teaching staff from Bodhgaya.

Amarnath Pathak of the Magadh University Non-Teaching association said: “Those employees working at Magadh University colleges will remain at the present posting. However, if there is transfer of human resources from Bodhgaya to Patna, we will oppose it.”

Courtesy: The Telegraph

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *