Bihar bypolls: Voters have rejected divisive politics, says Nitish Kumar

nitish-kumarPatna: JD(U) leader Nitish Kumar on Monday expressed satisfaction at the results of the Bihar bypolls and said that the people have rejected the politics of division.

“I would like to thank the voters. The results have declared that the feeling of harmony has won,” he said while addressing a press conference after the results were declared.

He added that the poll results were significant as it clearly states the mandate of people shortly after the recently held Lok Sabha elections.

Nitish further said that unlike others, his party had made no tall claims during the campaign.

The ‘grand alliance’ of RJD, JD(U) and Congress gained majority in six Assembly seats while BJP could manage to win only four.

The bypolls were held on 10 Assembly seats – Hajipur, Chapra, Mohiuddinagar, Parbatta, Bhagalpur, Rajnagar (SC), Jale, Mohania (SC), Narkatiaganj, Banka.

Courtesy: ANI

Bihar Eagerly Awaits Assembly By-Poll Results to be Declared Today

Patna: The stage is all set for the results of the assembly by-election on 10 seats on Monday, touted by political pundits as a ‘semi-final’ before the full-fledged assembly elections scheduled next year.

The counting centres are ready, and all eyes will be on them to know not only about the fate of 94 candidates which are sealed in Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs), but also to understand which direction the political wind is blowing in Bihar.

Additional Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) R Lakshmanan said vigorous, three-tier security arrangements have been made at the counting centres located at district headquarters of the respective assembly seats.

“Counting will begin at 8am on Monday. Around 3,000 Central Para Military Force (CPMF) and Bihar Military Police (BMP) personnel have been deployed to secure the counting centres. Counting personnel have been trained and sent to their respective locations,” said Mr Lakshmanan.

The Additional CEO also said the results software developed by the National Informatics Centre (NIC) is in place and a trial run will be conducted at 6 am on Monday to ensure that there are no glitches once the counting starts. The trends will be available from the first hour of the counting itself.

The by-polls to the 10 assembly constituencies – Hajipur, Chapra, Mohiuddinagar, Parbatta, Bhagalpur, Rajnagar (SC), Jale, Mohania (SC), Narkatiaganj, Banka – on August 21 were necessitated after representatives to five of them got elected to the Lok Sabha, while the rest fell vacant due to resignations.

The voters turnout was around 47 per cent during the bypoll.

Stakes are also high for the BJP-led NDA in the bypoll.

Six out of the 10 seats were won by BJP in the 2010 Assembly election.

In the bye-elections, BJP contested 9 seats and its NDA partner Rashtriya Lok Samata Party (RLSP) was given one seat.

On the other hand, the grand alliance members RJD and JD(U) contested four seats each, leaving two seats for the Congress.

Courtesy: PTI

Bihar Assembly by-polls: Lalu, Nitish to share dais in Chhapra today

Patna: RJD chief Lalu Prasad Yadav and JD(U) leader Nitish Kumar will be sharing dais in Chhapra on Saturday. 

The former political rivals who became friends recently after a gap of 20 years are likely to address a rally in Chhapra as part of election campaign ahead of the Bihar by-election in 10 seats on August 21. 

Nitish had parted ways with BJP before the Lok Sabha elections after the former had announced Narendra Modi as its PM candidate.

Later, Lalu and Nitish announced their alliance last month after both parties suffered defeat in the recent Lok Sabha elections and declared that they will jointly contest the August by-polls and the state Assembly elections next year.

The August 21 Assembly by-polls will be held in Hajipur, Chapra, Mohiuddinagar, Narkatiyaganj, Mohania, Jale,Bhagalpur, Banka, Rajnagar and Parbatta.

Courtesy: Zee News

Aug 21 bypolls to be acid test for JD(U), RJD ties

Patna: With the Election Commission (EC) announcing on Saturday that the by-election for 10 Bihar assembly seats will be held on August 21, stage is set for the first major test of ties between the RJD and JD(U). With Lalu Prasad and Nitish Kumar becoming strong advocates of alliance of secular and social justice forces to defeat the communal forces (read BJP), the two parties are likely to contest five seats each, said sources here. The two leaders are expected to talk on the seats to be contested by their respective parties shortly.

According to the EC announcement, nominations will be filed between July 26 and August 2, polling will be held on August 21 and counting of votes will take place on August 25.

The constituencies going for bypolls are: Narkatiaganj, Chhapra, Hajipur, Jale, Rajnagar, Mohiuddinagar, Banka, Parbatta, Bhagalpur and Mohania. These seats had fallen vacant following the resignations of the MLAs concerned, who were either elected to Lok Sabha or had quit their seats to join the ruling JD(U).

According to sources, the bone of contention between the RJD and JD(U) are likely to be Parbatta, Rajnagar and Banka seats as the three sitting RJD MLAs had joined JD(U) last month. The RJD is insisting on the three seats which it won in 2010 and the JD(U) wants to contest them too.

Senior BJP leader Sushil Kumar Modi told TOI on Saturday, “We (the BJP, LJP and RLSP) will contest the assembly by-election together.” The issue of alliance will be discussed at the BJP’s state executive committee meeting here on Sunday.

In the 2010 assembly election, BJP had won seven out of these 10 seats and trailed by 1,500 votes in two other ? Banka and Rajnagar. The party did not contest Parbatta as it was given to JD(U), its alliance partner at that time. Five sitting BJP MLAs were elected to Lok Sabha in May while two of its MLAs, Vijay Kumar Mishra and Rana Gangeshwar joined the JD(U) last month.

JD(U) spokesman Dr Ajay Alok said on Saturday, “So far there is no concrete proposal for an alliance between the JD(U) and RJD. The party state executive committee will meet here on Sunday and names of the candidates may be decided.”

Courtesy: TNN


Madhubani is a town and a municipality in Madhubani district in the Indian state of Bihar. It is the district head quarters. It lies 26km northeast of Darbhanga town and was part of the erstwhile ‘Darbhanga Raj’, the largest zamindari of India. The word “Madhubani” means “Forest of honey”. Madhubani is the cultural heart of Mithilanchal, being the birthplace of many literary people and home to Madhubani Paintings.

Madhubani Town is located at 26°22′N 86°05′E26.37°N 86.08°E. It has an average elevation of 56 metres (183 feet).

Block of Madhubani District
Madhubani Sadar (Known As Rahika), Pandaul, Bisfi, Jayanagar, Ladaniya, Lukha, Janjharpur, Benipatti, Rajnagar, Andhra Thadi

As of 2001 India census, Madhubani Town had a population of 66,285. Males constitute 53% of the population and females 47%. Madhubani Town has an average literacy rate of 58%, lower than the national average of 59.5%: male literacy is 67%, and female literacy is 49%. In Madhubani Town , 16% of the population is under 6 years of age.

Language and Culture

  • Maithili
  • Hindi
  • Urdu


  • Kosi River approximateky the eastern boundary.
  • Kamla-balan from Jayanagar town in north to Kosi in south-east corner of the district.
  • Bhutahi-balan, a minor river in the east which swells enormously in rainy seasons.
  • Adhwara or little Baghmati in west of the district : it is a group of many small rivers which fall into Kareh or Main Baghmati.

There are many old cases of Kamla which swell in rainy seasons. All these rivers ultimately fall into the Kosi which then falls into the Ganges.

Among the greatest literary people born in Madhubani

  • Vachaspati I (9th century) at Andhara-Thadhi village
  • Vachaspati II (15th century) at Samaul village
  • Mahakavi Vidyapati at Bisfi village