April 20, 2024

The Bihar

Bihar's #1 Online Portal

Bihar human rights commission seeks speedy trial in Mokama encounter case

2 min read

biharPatna: Bihar human rights commission (BHRC) on Tuesday requested the Patna high court to suitably direct the authorities concerned to start speedy trial against the accused police officers in the Mokama police encounter case. Raju Singh and Amar Kumar Raja, both residents of Khagaria district, were killed in the police encounter on the night of May 31-June 1, 2013 near Mokama in Patna district.

The commission ordered the state government to provide compensation of Rs2.50 lakh to the next of kin of each deceased within six weeks.

“Commission is of the view that this is a fit case for speedy trial under Section 30 of the Protection of Human Rights Act, 1993. Commission requests Hon’ble High Court, Patna, to issue suitable directions in this regard,” Commission’s acting chairperson Neelmani said while passing the order. A copy of its order would be sent to registrar general of Patna high court for necessary action.

It is for the first time that the commission has made a request to the high court for issuing suitable direction to the authorities concerned for speedy trial, sources in the commission said.

It has also asked the crime investigation department (CID) to conclude its supplementary/further investigation in the case preferably by February 28, 2014. “Needless to reiterate that police department must have taken/initiated administrative actions for the criminal conspiracy/omission/commission on the part of the police personnel concerned. DGP, Bihar is being directed to intimate action taken in the case by February 28, 2014,” the order said.

The BHRC took suo Motu cognisance in the case on June 3, just two days after the alleged encounter. Following investigation done by CID, the then police inspector of Mokama police station, Ashok Kumar Singh, and ASI Rajkumar Chaudhary were arrested and sent to judicial custody on July 20, 2013.

The case was held true against six non-FIR accused police personnel, namely the complainant police inspector Singh, ASI Chaudhary, Havaldar Maheshwari Prasad Singh, constables Abhishek Anand, Ravish Chandra and Bhushan Kumar under sections 302/201/120B/34 of IPC and 27 of the Arms Act and also against non-FIR accused Bumbum Mandal and Chandra Shekhar Yadav (co-travellers in the vehicle) under sections 25 (1-B) A and 35 of the Arms Act. Four police personnel – one havaldar and three constables – are still absconding in the case.

Courtesy: TNN

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *