July 16, 2024

The Bihar

Bihar's #1 Online Portal

Congress declares candidates for 3 Assembly by-polls in Bihar

2 min read

The Congress in Bihar on Saturday declared its candidate for Maharajganj Assembly seat with a “hope” that ally RJD will not field its nominee but said if Lalu Prasad’s party still decided to contest this and two other seats in the bypolls it was ready for a “friendly” fight.

Congress has nominated Kutul Krishna, state spokesman as its candidate for the bypoll to Maharajganj Assembly seat, its Vice President and media in-charge Prem Chand Mishra said in a statement. The party has already declared Manoj Kumar Singh as its nominee for Chiraiya Assembly seat in East Champaran and Ravindra Kumar Singh for Sahebpur Kamal in Begusrai district in the by-elections, he said.

Bihar will witness by-elections in five Assembly seats along with Parliamentary elections. Congress had recently withdrawn its candidates from Baisi in Purnea district and Kochadhaman in Kisanganj in favour of its ally RJD. Asked if there was seat-sharing understanding between Congress and RJD for the by-elections like in the Parliamentary poll, Mishra told PTI “after withdrawing two candidates to avoid any confusion, we have conveyed our decision to contest three Assembly seats to them and now its up to them what they do.”

“If RJD do not field candidates against ours on the three seats we will thank them but in case they decide to fight them we will have friendly contest there,” Mishra said. He, however, said categorically that Congress would contest the three seats “in any case” as it was strong there. The Congress and RJD had earlier reached seat-sharing agreement for present Lok Sabha elections after prolonged negotiations, which saw many ups and downs.

Courtesy: IBN Live

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *