April 21, 2024

The Bihar

Bihar's #1 Online Portal

Election 2014: Repoll at 33 polling stations in Bihar today

1 min read

Patna: The Election Commission (EC) declared that repoll at the 33 polling stations in five Lok Sabha constituencies of Bihar would be held on Sunday.

Voting at these polling stations in Aurangabad, Karakat, Gaya, Nawada and Jamui was hampered due to various reasons including security related problems during the first phase of elections in the state on Thursday.

“Votes will be cast from 7am to 3pm at these polling stations. The Returning Officers of the respective constituencies are preparing for it. Adequate security arrangements have been made to ensure smooth polling,” additional Chief Electoral Officer R Lakshmanan said.

Meanwhile, nominations for the fifth phase elections in Sheohar, Sitamarhi, Muzaffarpur, Maharajganj, Hajipur, Saran and Ujiyarpur as well as two Assembly seats of Chiraiya and Maharajganj started today and former Chief Minister Rabri Devi today filed her nomination from Saran.

The flying squads and surveillance teams formed for smooth conduct of polls in the state have seized Rs 2.18 crore cash, 1.14 litres of liquor, 130 firearms and 129-kg of explosives so far and registered 542 FIRs in this connection, officials said.

Courtesy: PTI

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *