June 14, 2024

The Bihar

Bihar's #1 Online Portal

Nitish Kumar, Sushil Modi and Rabri Devi set to be declared ‘elected unopposed’ in Bihar Council polls

2 min read

PATNA: Bihar CM Nitish Kumar, deputy CM Sushil Kumar Modi, former CM Rabri Devi and eight others are all set to win the state legislative council election unopposed on April 19, which is the last date for withdrawal of nominations, as only 11 people are in contest for 11 seats.
Nomination papers of all 11 candidates were found valid on Tuesday, the date of scrutiny.

Bihar legislative assembly secretary-cum-returning officer for council’s election Ram Shreshth Rai on Wednesday said that nomination papers of all the 11 candidates were found valid after scrutiny was done on Tuesday in presence of some of the candidates and an observer of the Election Commission of India.

“If no candidate withdraws their candidature by 3pm on April 19 – the last hour of withdrawing nomination; all the 11 candidates including Nitish Kumar would be declared elected unopposed,” Rai said.

Besides the CM, Deputy CM and Rabri Devi; other eight people who are all set to be declared ‘elected unopposed’ on April 19 are RJD’s Bihar unit president Ram Chandra Purbey and Khurshid Mohsin (both RJD), health minister Mangal Pandey, former union minister Sanjay Paswan (both BJP), Rameshwar Mahto and Khalid Anwar (both of JD-U) Santosh Manjhi (HAM-S) and Prem Chandra Mishra (Congress).

Earlier on April 2, the Election Commission of India announced dates for biennial election to 11 seats of State Legislative Council falling vacant on forthcoming May 6.

Of 11 seats, terms of 10 members are set to expire on May 6 while one seat had fallen vacant earlier after disqualification of senior JD(U) leader Narendra Singh on January 6, 2016. Narendra’s term was to complete on May 6, 2018.

Courtesy: TNN

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *