July 16, 2024

The Bihar

Bihar's #1 Online Portal

Over 60 per cent polling in seven Lok Sabha seats in Bihar

2 min read

l-s-electionPatna: Voters came out in large numbers in the seven Lok Sabha seats of Bihar where polling is taking place today. Over 60 per cent voters exercised their franchise. The voting percentage at 5 pm in Madhubani was 51, Jhanjharpur 52, Madhepura 57, Darbhanga 53, Samastipur(SC) 52, Begusarai 57 and Khagaria 54 per cent. In the Assembly seat of Sahebpur Kamal it is 57 per cent.

11:10 am: Around 19 per cent polling was recorded till 10 am in seven Lok Sabha seats of Bihar in the fourth phase of Parliamentary election in the state.

A total of 18.88 per cent polling was recorded at Madhepura constituency where JD(U) President Sharad Yadav is in the fray.

Madhubani saw 19 per cent voting while in Jhanjharpur it was 19 per cent, Darbhanga 15 per cent, Samastipur 17 per cent, Begusarai 22 per cent and Khagaria 16.98 per cent till 10 am, Election Commission statement said in Patna.

Polling is underway in seven parliamentary constituencies in the fourth phase of the Lok Sabha elections in Bihar amidst tight security on Wednesday to decide the fate of 94 candidates.

The prominent candidates in the fray are JD(U) President Sharad Yadav from Madhepura, who is being challenged by RJD’s Rajesh Ranjan alias Pappu Yadav, former central minister and BJP leader Hukumdeo Narayan Yadav from Madhubani and cricketer-turned-BJP leader Kirti Azad from Darbhanga who will contest against former Union minister and RJD leader MAA Fatmi.

Elections are also being held in Jhanjharpur, Samastipur (SC), Begusarai and Khagaria seats today and all the constituencies are in the Kosi river belt. Five women are also in the fray.

An electorate of 1.12 crore voters will exercise their franchise in 10,521 polling stations.

Altogether 59,000 personnel belonging to 145 companies of central paramilitary forces BSF, CRPF and state police, including Bihar Military Police and homeguards and two helicopters have been deployed to ensure free and fair polls, official sources said.

The helicopters would be used for aerial surveillance, the sources said.

Polling would end at 4 pm in the three assembly segments of Mahisi in Madhepura and Simri Bhakhtiyarpur and Aluali in Khagaria seat as the areas are Maoist-affected.

Bypoll is also being held in Sahebpur Kamal Assembly seat in Begusarai district. It is necessitated following former minister Parveen Amanullah’s resignation from the Nitish Kumar cabinet to move to AAP.

Courtesy: PTI

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *