April 17, 2024

The Bihar

Bihar's #1 Online Portal

Rs 2.17crore cash seized after model code

2 min read

Patna: The notification for election to parliamentary constituencies of Sheohar, Sitamarhi, Muzaffarpur, Maharajganj, Saran, Hajipur (R) and Ujiarpur and assembly constituencies of Chiraia and Maharajganj were issued by the office of chief electoral officer (CEO), Bihar, on Saturday. The constituencies will go to polls on May 7 and accordingly, the last date for filing nominations for these constituencies is April 19.

Addressing the daily press meet on Saturday, additional CEO R Lakshmanan said, over Rs 2.17 crore was seized by flying squads, static surveillance teams and police officials in raids conducted after the enforcement of the model code of conduct for Lok Sabha 2014 election. “While the final voting percentage of Karakat was registered to be 49.41%, that of Aurangabad stood at 51.32%, Nawada at 52.11% and Gaya (R) at 53.80,” he said. At all places, men came out in higher numbers than women.

With a view to improving the voting percentage, EC’s state icon Ratan Rajput will hold awareness programmes at Muzaffarpur, East and West Champaran districts from April 13 to 15. According to a press note issued by the CEO office, more than 1.30 lakh litres of liquor was seized by the officials till Saturday, while over 540 FIRs were lodged in connection with violation of the model code.

Altogether 8,110 persons were made to execute bonds by the state police under the Code of Criminal Procedure (CrPC), besides the execution of 719 non-bailable warrants. Over 800 persons were identified as probable source of trouble by the cops on Saturday. A total of 26 cases were lodged under the enforcement of model code of conduct.

Regarding the allegation of RJD chief Lalu Prasad regarding irregularities at booth number 180 of Belaganj assembly segment in Gaya LS constituency, Lakshmanan said, “Fresh polling will be held at the booth on Sunday. Prasad had made complaints against the presiding officer which is also being looked into and action will be taken against erring officials.” However, when asked about unattached MLA Samrat Choudhary’s claim that Prasad was not eligible to be the RJD chief and distribute party’s poll symbol, Lakshmanan said, “If he’s filed a petition, we will look into it but party-level matters are taken up by the Election Commission of India.”

With Saturday being the last date for withdrawal of candidature from constituencies going to polls in the fourth phase on April 30, four candidates withdrew their names, while five nominations were also filed on the same day for the seats going to polls on May 7.

Courtesy: TNN

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *