April 23, 2024

The Bihar

Bihar's #1 Online Portal

Tejashwi Yadav takes jibe at Nitish Kumar citing example of Karnataka MLAs

2 min read

Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) leader and former deputy chief minister Tejashwi Yadav, who has been a bitter critic of Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, took another swipe at the 67-year-old leader on Saturday.

Yadav has been mounting scathing attacks on the government led by the coalition of Janata Dal (United) and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in the state.

In a tweet posted from his official handle on 26 May, the younger son of RJD supremo Lalu Prasad Yadav wrote in Hindi about an experience at the recently concluded swearing-in ceremony of Karnataka Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy.

Recalling his Bengaluru visit, where he was seen hobnobbing with the biggest political names of the country known for their anti-BJP stance, Yadav said his attention was drawn to a curious contradiction which made him “feel bad as a Bihari”.

“Two days ago I attended the swearing-in ceremony of HD Kumaraswamy in Bengaluru. The people there told me, ‘none of the MLAs in Karnakata gave in to the pressure from BJP but in your state even the CM got sold’,” Yadav wrote referring to Nitish Kumar’s decision to break away from the Mahagathbandhan in 2017 and form a government with the BJP.

“I was speechless. Not as a politician, I felt bad as a Bihari,” added Yadav.

The 28-year-old former deputy chief minister in Nitish Kumar’s government during the Mahagathbandhan days, Yadav has turned into a bitter critic of the state government, flaying it for a host of issues ranging from governance within the state and the political moves of the BJP-led Centre.

At Kumaraswamy’s swearing-in ceremony, on 24 May, the nation witnessed the coming together of the entire spectrum of India’s anti-BJP political parties on the same stage.

Former rivals such as BSP’s Mayawati and SP’s Akhilesh Yadav came together alongside Congress chief Rahul Gandhi and UPA president Sonia Gandhi to send out a strong message of opposition unity. West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee, CPI(M) general secretary Sitaram Yechury, Andhra Pradesh CM N Chandrababu Naidu, whose party was till recently an NDA ally, were among many others who held hands and raised it before a huge crowd of supporters indicating their willingness to contest the 2019 Lok Sabha elections together.

Courtesy: SNS Web

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *