May 19, 2024

The Bihar

Bihar's #1 Online Portal

Tejashwi Yadav Will be CM Face For 2020 Bihar Elections if Nitish Kumar Joins Grand Alliance: Jitan Ram Manjhi

2 min read

New Delhi: Former Bihar Chief Minister Jitan Ram Manjhi said that Rashtriya Janata Dal leader Tejashwi Yadav will be the chief ministerial candidate of the grand alliance for 2020 Bihar elections. Talking to media, Manjhi said, “If Nitish Kumar gives up CM seat and joins ‘mahagathbandhan’, then I think Tejashvi Prasad ji will be our CM face for 2020 Bihar elections.”

Last year, Nitish broke away from the alliance and joined hands with the Bharatiya Janata Party to form the National Democratic Alliance-Janata Dal-United government in Bihar.

Recently, RJD leader Tejashwi Yadav had said that the doors of the ‘(grand alliance) mahagathbandhan’ had been closed for Nitish Kumar.

Meanwhile, the JD(U) is again flexing its muscles against ally BJP. Party leader Sanjay Singh said on Monday, “State BJP leaders who want to make headlines should be kept under control.” Reminding the ally that the JD(U) held better ground this time around, he said, “There is a lot of difference between 2014 & 2019. The BJP knows that without Nitish ji, it will not be able to win.”

The tension over seat-sharing between JD (U) and the BJP had resurfaced only yesterday when some JD (U) leaders looked eager for an early decision on the issue.

The JD(U)-RJD-Congress Mahagathbandhan swept the Bihar Assembly elections in 2015 by winning 178 seats in the 243-member Assembly. The BJP managed to win just 53 seats and its allies five. Nitish broke ties with the BJP in 2013 but once they have joined hands to form the government in Bihar.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *