July 16, 2024

The Bihar

Bihar's #1 Online Portal

After NEET, Kalpana Kumari tops Bihar Class 12 board exams

3 min read

PATNA: Bihar School Examination Board (BSEB) announced the intermediate result on Wednesday, which witnessed a marked improvement in the performance of the students. The pass percentage of students has gone up by 17.71% in comparison to last year. Last year the pass percentage was 35.24%.

Altogether 11.92 lakh students appeared for class XII board exam and 6.31 lakh students cleared it, making the pass percentage 52.95%. Total 92,726 students made it to first division, 4.3 lakh passed with second division and 99,395 passed with third division. However, 5.5lakh (46.61% of total number of students who appeared) students failed in the exam.

The results were announced by education minister Krishnanandan Prasad Verma, principal secretary RK Mahajan and BSEB chairman Anand Kishor at the board’s headquarters at Patna.

The top position for each stream (science, commerce and arts) was bagged by girls. National Eligibility cum Entrance Test (NEET) 2018 topper Kalpana Kumari also topped Class XII from science stream. She scored 86.8% and got 434 marks out of 500. She appeared for Class XII exam from YKJM College Sheohar. Commerce’s topper Nidhi Sinha also scored 86.8% and she appeared for the exam from RDS College Muzaffarpur. Simultala Awasiya Vidyalaya’s (Jamui) Kusum Kumari got the top position in arts stream with 84.8%.

Intermediate: Top five rank holders

Kalpana Kumari (86.8%)
YKJM College Sheohar
Nishi Sinha (86.8%)
RDS College Muzaffarpur
Kusum Kumari (84.8%)
SAV Jamui
Abhinav Adarsh (84.2%)
Simultala Awasiya Vidyalaya
(SAV) Jamui
Mala Kumari (86%)
Gaya College
Priyangi Mehta (84.4%)
Sri Arvind Mahila College
Rudresh Raj Verma (84%)
SAE College Jamui
Mohammad Nishat (85%)
Allama Iqbal College
Pragya Pranjal (83.8%)
SAV Jamui
Rishu Raj (83%)
Gaya College and Satish Dhawan
SAV Jamui
Aarohi Gupta (84.8%)
HD Jain College Ara
Nikita Kumari (84.8%)
Gaya College
Ritika Kumari (83.4%)
Rajkiyakrit SS School Saran
Martand Prakash and Rishu Raj (82.6%)
(Both from Gaya College
Aditi Arya (82.6%)
MM Memorial Urdu HS Gopalganj
Pratik Kumar (84.6%)
SN Sinha College
Pooja Kumari (83.2%)
SAV Jamui

Meanwhile, the boys fare better than girls in Class XII exam with pass percentage of 30.47 as compared to 22.48% girls.

Total 1009 students were expelled during the intermediate exam for using unfair means, while results of seven candidates were withheld by the board. Results of 3,468 candidates were declared incomplete due to several reasons.

Addressing the media persons, Kishor said the results have improved in comparison to last year. “The exams were conducted under the CCCTV surveillance and strict monitoring of the invigilators. Students who are unsatisfied with their results can apply for the scrutiny. The forms will be sold at the BSEB’s regional centres at Patna, Gaya, Bhagalpur, Darbhanga, Muzaffarpur, Purnia, Chappra, Munger and Saharsa from June 13 to 20. Students can also apply at the BSEB’s official website-www.biharboard.ac.in,” he said.

He also congratulated all the toppers and said that Kalpana has proved her mettle in both BSEB Class XII exam and in NEET. “She made the state and the board proud,” said Kishor.

This year, the intermediate examination started on February 6 and ended on February 16 and the practical examinations were held from January 11 to 25.

Topper of Class XII from each stream (science, commerce and arts) will get cash prize of Rs 1 lakh along with laptop and a kindle e-reader and other stationary. Cash prize of Rs 75,000 was given to second rank holders and Rs 50,000 to third rank holders along with other gadgets. The Bihar Board also gifted fourth and fifth rank holders of each stream of class XII with Rs 15,000 each and a laptop. The incentives will be given to the toppers on December 3 on birth anniversary of Dr Rajendra Prasad.

The top five rank holders of each stream will get scholarship money of Rs 1,500 per month with its term depending on the duration of the course they are pursuing after Class XII under Desh Ratan Dr Rajendra Prasad Medha Chatravriti.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *