July 12, 2024

The Bihar

Bihar's #1 Online Portal

BCCI Technical Committee Approves Bihar’s Participation in Ranji Trophy

2 min read

New Delhi: In a major relief for the Cricket Association of Bihar, the Sourav Ganguly-led technical committee of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) decided to adhere with the recommendation of the Supreme Court-appointed Committee of Administrators and decided to reinstate Bihar in next year’s Ranji Trophy.

In fact, the committee also recommended an option of including the North-Eastern states in the Ranji Trophy.

Speaking to CricketNext, a member of the committee who was present at the meeting said that it was thought to be the way forward and the players of Bihar and in the North- Eastern states deserved an opportunity to fight it out against the best players in the domestic circuit. It is now up to the general body of the BCCI to approve the recommendation of the technical committee.

“The technical committee was unanimous in its meeting today that a team from Bihar shall play the Ranji Trophy and other such tournaments in accordance with the order of the Hon’ble Supreme Court. The Committee in fact has also recommended an option of including the North-Eastern states in the Ranji Trophy keeping in view a course to be followed for development of cricket in the region. The matter has been referred to the General Body with recommendations being made accordingly in terms with the procedures of the BCCI,” the official said.

GM (Cricket Operations) Saba Karim and former India skipper and current Chennai Super Kings skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni made their Ranji Trophy debuts for Bihar before the association was suspended in 2004.

Karim later switched to Bengal while Dhoni made his India debut in 2004 when Jharkhand State Cricket Association (JSCA) became a part of BCCI replacing Bihar Cricket Association. Bihar also suffered due to various factions claiming that their association is the recognised one. There is BCA and Cricket Association of Bihar (also known as CAB) run by Aditya Verma, the petitioner in the 2013 spot-fixing scandal.

Courtesy: CricketNext

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *