July 16, 2024

The Bihar

Bihar's #1 Online Portal

BJP, Congress, CPI win 2 seats each in Bihar Legislative Council

1 min read

Patna: The BJP, Congress and the CPI emerged victorious in two seats each in the elections conducted for eight Bihar Legislative Council seats reserved for teachers and graduates.

The JD(U) and an Independent candidate won in the two other seats for which polls were held on Tuesday, Additional Chief Electoral Officer R Lakshmanan said.

The four council seats reserved for teachers went to Nawal Kishore Yadav (BJP, Patna), Kedar Nath Pandey (CPI, Saran), Sanjay Kumar (CPI, Tirhut) and Madan Mohan Jha (Congress, Darbhanga).

The four seats reserved for graduates were bagged by Niraj Kumar (JD(U), Patna), Devesh Chandra Thakur (Independent, Tirhut), Dilip Kumar Chaudhary (Congress, Darbhanga) and NK Yadav (BJP, Kosi).

Meanwhile, the EC has advised candidates contesting the Lok Sabha elections to refrain from cash transactions to help bring transparency in the poll process.

The EC has clarified that no candidate, his supporter or worker could carry more than Rs 50,000 cash inside the constituency.

“Any cash over and above Rs 50,000 will be treated as meant to be distributed among the voters and will be liable to be seized,” said Lakshmanan.

Courtesy: PTI

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *