April 21, 2024

The Bihar

Bihar's #1 Online Portal

Sharad Yadav locked in 3-way fight in Madhepura

2 min read

sharad-yadavMadhepura: Twelve candidates, including that of RJD, BJP, JD (U) and BSP, are left in the fray for Madhepura parliamentary constituency which will go to the polls on April 30.

Madhepura DM cum returning officer Gopal Meena said nominations of two out of 16 candidates were rejected in for proposers not putting his signature in the column specified while a couple of them, including a JMM candidate, withdrew their papers. Other candidates have already been allocated poll symbols, the DM said.

JD (U) national president and sitting MP Sharad Yadav is locked in a triangular contest with Pappu and BJP candidate Vijay Kumar Singh.

Meena said the district administration was committed to hold free, fair and peaceful election in the constituency and added that 1,128 buildings have been selected to set up 1,565 booths for the voters’ convenience. The district administration is maintaining complete transparency in its work. “I am living in the house virtually made up of glass and one can easily look into it,” the RO said reacting to a recent remark by RJD nominee Rajesh Ranjan alias Pappu Yadav.

In a complaint lodged with the CEO, Bihar, Pappu reportedly has charged the district administration with targeting his supporters. The RO said some officers were discharging poll related duty at his residential office till late evening. The DM exhorted the mediapersons to publish such news after proper verification of the fact.

With the 3% increase in the number of voters in Madhepura constituency, the total number of electorate has increased to about 17.26 lakh. It comprises three assembly segments each of Madhepura and Saharsa districts.

Courtesy: TNN

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *